Our mission

The RQCALACS (Quebec Coalition of Sexual Assault Help Centers) dedicates itself to fostering the exchange of expertise between its member centers, supporting the search for solutions to eradicate sexual assault and ensure the development of intersectional feminist intervention services for everyone.

Driven by a spirit of social justice, the RQCALACS (Quebec Coalition of Sexual Assault Help Centers) seeks to promote social, legal and political change.

The work of the RQCALACS and its members is part of autonomous community action. It is part of a long democratic and participatory tradition supported by a “by and for” vision.

The RQCALACS develops an intersectional feminist approach to understand better the different contexts of oppression intervening in the lives of adults and children and to adapt its practices according to the needs and realities of each individual.

Our Values

Equality

The RQCALACS (Quebec Coalition of Sexual Assault Help Centers) recognizes the importance of sharing power, information and resource access by establishing inclusive structures and appropriate measures. It also seeks to include groups of people who experience certain realities related to the intersection of the discriminations to which they are subject.

Respect

The RQCALACS recognizes and accepts the difference and autonomy of each body, each member center and each woman in its diversity. This difference can be expressed in their communications, healing processes and stances, as well as in their approaches.

Solidarity

The RQCALACS celebrates the mutual commitment of the various committees within the organization and the members, driven by a spirit of cooperation in the search for the common good and aiming for equality and social justice.

Highlights of our organization

1975

A first CALACS (Sexual Assault Help Center) is born. Several other centers came to be in the following years. They faced the discriminatory attitudes from the police and legal system, the absence of adequate care and services from the medical system, and the scarcity of helpful resources.

1979

The RQCALACS (Quebec Coalition of Sexual Assault Help Centers) was set up to ensure the exchange of expertise between social workers and other experts, and to collaborate in the deployment of government policies to prevent sexual assault and support victims and survivors.

1983

The CALACS campaign and mobilize to demand a reform of the Criminal Code, which introduces the term “sexual assault,” the notion of marital rape and the idea that these crimes are violent in nature.

2017

It is the culmination of many years of prevention in schools. The RQCALACS, in collaboration with professor-researchers Manon Bergeron and Martine Hébert (UQAM), is launching the prevention program “Empreinte” for all high school students in Quebec.

TODAY

Quebec has approximately 40 CALACS-like resources, most of which are members of the RQCALACS.

Facing a still precarious economic posture and a system that requires an increasing level of professionalization, the RQCALACS intends to maintain a politicized analysis and practices, as well as collaboration between the centers and their allies.

Find a CALACS

To find a center near you, browse through the list of resources like CALACS (Sexual Assault Help Centers) or use our service locator.  

RQCALACS does not store your location information

Notre mission

Le Regroupement québécois des centres d'aide et de lutte contre les agressions à caractère sexuel (RQCALACS) se consacre à favoriser l’échange d’expertises entre ses centres membres, à soutenir la recherche de solutions pour enrayer les agressions à caractère sexuel et à assurer le développement de services d’intervention féministe intersectionnel pour les femmes et les filles.

Animé par un esprit de justice sociale, le RQCALACS cherche à propulser des changements sociaux, juridiques et politiques.

Le travail du RQCALACS et de ses membres relève de l’action communautaire autonome et s’inscrit dans une longue tradition démocratique et participative, soutenue par une vision « par et pour ».

Le RQCALACS développe une approche féministe intersectionnelle pour mieux comprendre les différents contextes d’oppression intervenant dans la vie des personnes adultes et des enfants et pour adapter ses pratiques en fonction des besoins et des réalités de chacune.

Nos valeurs

Égalité

Le RQCALACS reconnaît l’importance du partage des pouvoirs, de l’information et de l’accès aux ressources par la mise en place de structures inclusives et de mesures adaptées. Il vise également l’inclusion des groupes de femmes qui vivent des réalités particulières liées à l’intersection des discriminations dont elles font l’objet.

Respect

Le RQCALACS reconnaît et accepte la différence et l’autonomie de chaque instance, de chaque centre membre et de chaque femme dans sa diversité. Cette différence peut s’exprimer tant dans leurs communications, dans le rythme de leurs processus de guérison et dans leurs prises de position que dans leurs approches.

Solidarité

Le RQCALACS célèbre l’engagement mutuel des divers comités à l’interne et des membres animé d’un esprit de coopération dans la recherche du bien commun visant l’égalité et la justice sociale.

Quelques moments forts de notre mouvement

1975

Un premier centre d’aide et de lutte contre les agressions à caractère sexuel (CALACS) voit le jour. Plusieurs autres centres emboîtent le pas dans les années suivantes. Ils font face à l’attitude discriminatoire du système policier et judiciaire, à l’absence d’accueil et de soins adéquats du système hospitalier et à la rareté des ressources d’aide.

1979

Le RQCALACS est mis sur pied afin d’assurer l’échange d’expertises entre les personnes intervenantes et de collaborer au déploiement de politiques gouvernementales en vue de prévenir les agressions à caractère sexuel et d’en soutenir les personnes victimes et survivantes.

1983

Les CALACS militent et se mobilisent pour revendiquer une réforme du Code criminel qui introduit le terme « agression sexuelle », la notion de viol conjugal et l’idée que ces crimes sont de nature violente.

2017

C’est l’aboutissement de nombreuses années de prévention dans les écoles. Le RQCALACS, en collaboration avec les professeures-chercheures Manon Bergeron et Martine Hébert (UQAM), lance le programme de prévention Empreinte destiné à l’ensemble des élèves du secondaire au Québec.

AUJOURD’HUI

Le Québec compte une quarantaine de ressources de type CALACS, dont la plupart sont membres du RQCALACS.

Face à un financement toujours précaire et à un système qui demande de plus en plus de professionnalisation, le RQCALACS entend maintenir une analyse et des pratiques politisées, de même que la collaboration entre les centres et avec leurs allié·e·s.

Trouver un CALACS

Pour trouver un centre d’aide et de lutte contre les agressions à caractère sexuel (CALACS) près de chez vous, consultez la liste des ressources ou utilisez notre localisateur de services. 

RQCALACS ne conserve pas vos informations de localisation